Nairobi to Kisumu Safari Train Schedule and Fares

Kisumu Safari Passenger Train

On 15th December, Kenya Railways announced the Schedule and Fare Prices for the Kisumu Safari Train – a passenger train between Nairobi and Kisumu. This line will connect to the Nairobi-Suswa and Nairobi-Mombasa SGR lines.

The Kisumu Safari Train started operations on 17th December 2021.

Train Dates (Train Schedule and Time)

Every Friday, the Kisumu Safari Train goes to Kisumu from Nairobi and returns on Sunday with a stopover at Nakuru Railway station. The train always departs at 6:00 p.m.
An Economy Class ticket costs Ksh 600 and a First-Class ticket costs Ksh 2,000.
Tickets are on sale at Nairobi Central station, Nakuru railway station, and the New Kisumu railway station.
  • From NBO: 17th December 2021
  • From KSM: 19th December 2021
  • NBO to KSM: 21st December 2021
  • KSM to NBO: 22nd December 2021
  • From NBO: 24th December 2021
  • From KSM: 26th December 2021
  • NBO to KSM: 31st December 2021
  • KSM to NBO: 2nd January 2022

About the Nairobi to Kisumu Line

The Main Line (Standard Guage and Meter Guage Railways)

– It boasts 18 stations including Mau Summit, Njoro, Fort Ternan, and Lela;
– 46 bridges and 27 viaducts.
– SGR Line from Nairobi Terminus to Mai Mahiu.
– 24 Km: MGR Link from Mai Mahiu to Longonot Train Station.
– 216 Km: MGR Line from Longonot to Kisumu via Nakuru.

Branch Lines (MGR)

– Khwisero to Kitale
– Gilgil to Nyahururu
– 63 Km: Kisumu to Butere

Nairobi to Kisumu via Nakuru Train Schedule

Nairobi to Nakuru

Depart: 06:30 PM (Friday)
Arrival:11:22 PM (Friday)
Fare: Kshs 300

Nakuru to Kisumu

Depart: 11:40 PM (Friday)
Arrival: 06:30 AM (Saturday)
Fare: Kshs 400

Kisumu to Nairobi via Nakuru Train Schedule

Kisumu to Nakuru

  • Depart: 06:30 PM (Sunday)
  • Arrival: 01: 36 AM (Monday)
  • Fare: Kshs 400

Nakuru to Nairobi

  • Depart: 01:56 AM (Monday)
  • Arrival: 06:35 AM (Monday)
  • Fare: Kshs 300

Fare Prices for the Nairobi to Kisumu Train

Nairobi to Kisumu

  • Economy Class: Kshs 600
  • First Class: Kshs 2,000

Kisumu to Nairobi

  • Economy Class: Kshs 600
  • First Class: Kshs 2,000

How to buy tickets for the Kisumu Safari Train

You can buy tickets for the Nairobi to Kisumu train by visiting the Nairobi Central Station. Reservations can also be made via call on either 0115169759 or 0115402558.


Featured Photo by Kenya Railways

Related: Nanyuki Safari Train Schedule and Fares.

Disclaimer: This website is not in any way affiliated with the Kenya Railways Website (The Official Government site for the railways in Kenya). Kenyan Backpacker also does NOT claim 100% accuracy of changing Information about the Passenger Train Services. As a Reader, you are advised to independently confirm the validity of information through other sources.



Abel Luta

When did kisumu-butere railway will be opened.

Inviolater Aswani

I appreciate the communication n travel information

Valary Achieng

Am planning to travel on 15th April how can I book and get my ticket online


At the moment, you can only book tickets for this train at the nearest station (Nairobi Central Station, Nakuru, or Kisumu). Keep checking updates from Kenya Railways for future developments.


Is there an advance booking kisum Nairobi?


i want to know how many times does the Nairobi – Kisumu train operate per week


Hi, the trains departs from Nairobi every Friday and from Kisumu every Sunday.


How many days does it goes in a we

Albert Mwondi

How much is it from Nairobi to Kisumu. And can I get space on 29th


Where do I take train

Richard Mageka

Narok- Bomet-Nyamira- Kisii- Migori-Homabay- Suba- Kuria
consider us please, I propose SGR ipitie hapa

Amos Ratemo

Does the train train stop at naivasha

Hellen Akinyi

Hey i want to travel to Nairobi from kisumu on sunday… jow should i book

Evans Njoroge

Hellow there, how do i make the booking from Nairobi to kisumu i’m traveling on 15th of this month kindly advise


Where do I take train


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.